R.I.P. Grandpa


For a man who never traveled beyond his province, my grandfather knew an awful lot of stuff. He recited tales of Don Quixote and Sindbad like he was a witness to the mad adventure that their lives held. My impressionable young mind lost no time in deciding that travel was the only way of life. My grandfather is the single most influential person in my life, without ever intending to be. I lived the life that he painted for me, without ever realizing it.

I can’t decide what I miss more about him. Is it the small things, like carrying me on his shoulders and teaching me to swim in the Godavari currents? Or the big things, like what should matter in life? I guess they all make me equally sad. As does the fact that I wasn’t there for him in his final moments. Today is a day I am going to remember, for today is when he goes from life to legacy. And that is something I shall strive to fulfill.

R.I.P. Grandpa. I hope you are now in a world that matches your imagination.

Leave a Reply

